NASHVILLE, Tenn. – The state of Tennessee has passed a bill that will raise fines for seat belt violations.

Currently, the fine for not wearing a seat belt (1st violation) is $10. Under the new law, the fine will be $25.

A second violation will go from $20 to $50.

In August of this year, the Governor’s Highway Safety Office and the Tennessee Highway Patrol announced a decrease in seat belt usage.

“The decrease represents tens of thousands of Tennesseans not wearing a seat belt this year compared to last,” said GHSO Director Kendell Poole.

The new seat belt violation fines will take effect in January of 2016.