St. B wins Little League Dist 9 Championship
St. B wins Little League Dist 9 Championship

Story and photo by Stephen Gibbs

CLARKSVILLE, Tenn. – A large crowd gathered at Civitan Park Tuesday night as the St. B 12-year-old Little League Baseball team made the most of two hits in a 1-0 victory over Clarksville National Blue.

St. B and CN Blue each put runners in scoring positions on Tuesday, but St. B capitalized on more opportunities, pulling out the win.

CN Blue out-hit St. B four to two, but CN stranded seven runners. Garrett Spain, Ford Cooper, Bryce Robinson, and Matthew Bowman were responsible for CN’s four base hits. Noah Lewis picked up a base hit for St. B while, Jackson Taylor shot a double into right field for the only extra base hit of the game.

In the third inning with Noah Lewis up to bat, St. B pushed across its only run of the day plating #9, Matthew Mahowald, on a passed ball.

Trey Elkins racked up 12 strikeouts while collecting the win. Elkins gave up just two hits over five shutout innings with only two walks.

The St. B closer, Maximus Leineweber, put away the final three outs, all strikeouts, to record the save.

Robbie Yates takes the loss for CN.

St. B enters the 12-year-old Little League state tournament representing District 9 this Saturday, July 20 at 10 a.m. in Winchester, TN. The team will play against Smith County.

Latest Sports Headlines

FILE -- In this July 31, 2014, file photo, Vanderbilt head coach Derek Mason watches his players during NCAA college football practice in Nashville, Tenn. First-year coach Mason has talked about Vanderbilt's goal of winning the SEC after their baseball team won the national championship -- a new idea for a program that has never won 10 games in a single season.

Commodores make most of open week

Mason says coaching staff made personnel, scheme adjustments.

Austin Peay women's golf team

Lady Govs finish 14th at Blue Raider Invitational

Three APSU golfers shoot 80s in final round of tournament.

APSU golf team pic

Govs win APSU Intercollegiate by eight strokes

Austin Peay wins home tournament for ninth time in 15 tries.